Structure of the General Assembly

NMI3 General Assembly members are:

All coordinators:

  • NMI3 coordinator
  • Networking Activities coordinator
  • Access managers of the access providing Facilities
  • (Jülich Centre for Neutron Science (JCNS) and Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG) are considered for representation purposes as individual partners despite the fact that they join the access to their instruments to TUM)
  • Joint Research Activity coordinators

Multinational neutron providers not delivering access:

  • Institut Laue Langevin
  • European Spallation Source

Countries with large user communities but no national source:

  • Italy (represented by CNR)
  • Spain (represented by CSIC)

User organisations and user representatives:

  • European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)
  • International Society for Muon Spectroscopy – Europe (ISMS-E)
  • Two representatives nominated by ENSA (from organisations not otherwise represented in the NMI3-GA)

Non-European observers:

  • USA (represented by SNS)
  • Japan (represented by JAEA)
  • Russia (represented by FLNP)
  • Australia (represented by ANSTO)
  • China (represented by CIAE)
  • Korea (represented by KAERI)
  • India (represented by BARC)

Scientific Advisory Committee (current members see below):

  • Romano Rinaldi (University of Perugia, Italy)
  • Françoise Leclercq-Hugeux (CNRS Lille, France)
  • Götz Eckold (German Neutron Community)
  • Kenneth Herwig (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Don Paul (Warwick University, UK)
  • Peter Schurtenberger (Lund University, Sweden)

The NMI3 General Assembly will invite additional observers as appropriate.

Organisations that are part of the NMI3 consortium as partners in a JRA, but not in any other role, are not directly represented in the NMI3 General Assembly. They are indirectly represented by the relevant JRA coordinator.

The NMI3 General Assembly meets at intervals corresponding to the reporting periods fixed
in the contract, the meetings being hosted by different members on a voluntary basis. The meetings are chaired by the NMI3 coordinator.